About Us

Office Hours: Monday – Thursday 10:00 AM – 3:00 PM; Closed Fridays

Preservation Services Officer

With the upcoming retirement of our Preservation Services Officer, The New Haven Preservation Trust seeks an knowledgeable, energetic Preservation Services Officer to help implement the mission of the Preservation Trust – to honor and preserve New Haven’s architectural heritage through advocacy, education and collaboration.

The preferred candidate will offer expertise in preservation as well as a strong desire to educate the public about historic structures and their preservation. As an articulate ambassador for the Trust, the Preservation Services Officer will identify preservation concerns, help shape the Trust’s approaches to such issues, and work with property owners, architects, developers, volunteers, city officials, and the public.

The position is part-time and will be available in late May 2018. The Preservation Trust is open to discussing alternate or independent employment arrangements.

Interested candidates should send a resume or brief summary of background and experience as well as a note expressing interest in the position to president@nhpt.org

OUR MISSION: To honor and preserve New Haven’s architectural heritage — historic buildings and neighborhoods — through advocacy, education, and collaboration.

Since its founding in 1961, the Trust has played a key role in the preservation and restoration of the New Haven Free Public Library, the New Haven Post Office and Federal Building, New Haven City Hall, the John Davies Mansion, Union Station, and countless private residences and commercial buildings throughout the city. Through advocacy, distribution of information, historic research, tours, and private consultations, the Trust continues to be New Haven’s advocate for the centuries-old architectural heritage that defines our city.

The New Haven Preservation Trust is a private, 501(c )(3) charitable organization.

Rona Johnston, President
Charlotte Rea, First Vice President
Leon Bailey, Second Vice President
Roberta Pilette, Secretary
Susan Godshall, Treasurer

Jason Bischoff-Wurstle
A.H. Chadderdon
Margaret Chambers
Elsie B. Chapman
Carol Cheney*
Michael Chiarappa
Duo Dickinson
Joseph Dzeda
Robert W. Grzywacz*
Channing Harris
Susan Jacobson
Patricia E. Kane*
Yesook Kim
Karin Krochmal*
Jill Martin
Bruce R. Peabody
Alan Plattus
Pedro Soto
* serves on the Executive Committee at the President’s invitation

Katherine Bennett
Edward S.K. Bottomley
Karyn Gilvarg
Melanie Ginter
Bruce W.J. Graham
Katharine Mace Learned
Preston Maynard
Marianne Mazan
Elise Parker
Doris B. Townshend
C. Michael Tucker
Christopher Wigren